top of page
  • By Paul Lagan

ChelseaFC Women to face derby delights with Hammers and Arsenal in new restructured WSL1 next season

Chelsea FC Women. Photo by Paul Lagan

Eleven clubs will form The FA Women’s Super League for the 2018/2019 season meaning one top flight side won’t be playing on the day the new dawn for women’s football begins.‘

Champions Chelsea FC Women will have the joy of facing old adversaries Arsenal and the joy of facing newly accepted West Ham Ladies in what could be a tight championship. The following teams were given a license to play

  • Arsenal

  • Birmingham City Ladies

  • Brighton & Hove Albion Women

  • Bristol City Women

  • Chelsea FC Women

  • Everton Ladies FC

  • Liverpool Ladies FC

  • Manchester City Women

  • Reading FC Women

  • Yeovil Town Ladies

  • West Ham United Ladies*

The 12 clubs which will form The FA Women’s Championship for the 2018/2019 season are:

  • Aston Villa Ladies FC

  • Doncaster Rovers Belles

  • Durham Women FC

  • London Bees

  • Millwall Lionesses

  • Sheffield FC Ladies

  • Tottenham Hotspur Ladies

  • Charlton Athletic Women**

  • Leicester City Women*

  • Lewes FC Women*

  • Manchester United Women*

  • Sheffield United Ladies*

*Approved within the open application phase

**Winners of Sunday’s FA Women’s Premier League Championship Play Off

Baroness Sue Campbell, The FA’s Head of Women’s Football said: “Today’s announcement is the result of two years of planning and a milestone within our delivery of The Gameplan for Growth strategy. The revised competition structure will positively impact on the delivery of the women’s game across all levels, both on and off the pitch.

“Such is the strength of women’s football in this country, there have been some difficult decisions to make but they’ve been made with the sport’s best interests at heart. This is a hugely exciting time for the game and I am hopeful that we will look back upon this as one of the most significant decisions made in its history.”

The 2018/19 season begins on the weekend of the 18 & 19 August with the opening round of group fixtures of The Continental League Cup. The FA Women’s Super League and The FA Women’s Championship league fixtures commence on the weekend of the September 8 and 9.

Join our mailing list

bottom of page